A Glimpse of Heaven – Worship at the Main Post Chapel

A Methodist preacher, an Episcopalian celebrant, and a Presbyterian pastor share in a worship service. It sounds like the beginning of a joke but it wasn’t, it was worship today at the Main Post Chapel at Fort Jackson. I worshiped with the Protestant worship service and it was such a wonderful worship. It may sound like a cliche but I really think I had a glimpse of what heaven might be like. I was observing my fellow worshipers and there was great variety of ages, races, civilians, military (in uniform) and military (out of uniform), and retirees all gathered together to share in the worship of God.

I didn’t know what to expect but I enjoyed what I encountered. People came as they were and came together as part of the Body of Christ. The best part of the entire day was affirmation of my calling. While I was sharing in the worship, I felt a deep call that I was in the right place and just where I needed to be. God used this time of worship to reach me in a way I didn’t expect and I came away ready to face CH-BOLC.

I am not sure what tomorrow or the other days will bring but I know it will be an adventure with God and with God’s guidance. Hooah!

One Reply to “”

  1. Amen my precious friend. Once again I want you to know how much I enjoy you blog and lood forward to it each and every day. Like you, my life is constant change and I am thriving on it. No pressures, no worries with keeping up a house. In the bosom of a family which is one of my callings. Being part of a family setting. My grandson and his 3 children have graciously invited me to live with them and be an integral part of their lives. I in my younger days was raised in our grandparents household. To relive that is one of God’s greatest gifts to me now that I am in the autumn of my life. Go with God and know I love you and your family.

Leave a comment