The Good Shepherd Works for His Sheep

This morning as I am putting the finishing touches on my sermon for Good Shepherd Sunday, I realize I have so many sermons I could preach on this topic. I have tried various paths this week and discarded them for various reasons. Here is a summary of some of the sermon ideas for the week.

Jesus Christ, the Good Shepherd, does three things for His sheep:

Jesus told them this parable: “Suppose someone among you had one hundred sheep and lost one of them. Wouldn’t he leave the other ninety-nine in the pasture and search for the lost one until he finds it? And when he finds it, he is thrilled and places it on his shoulders. When he arrives home, he calls together his friends and neighbors, saying to them, ‘Celebrate with me because I’ve found my lost sheep.’ In the same way, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who changes both heart and life than over ninety-nine righteous people who have no need to change their hearts and lives. -Luke 15:3-7 (CEB)

1. The Good Shepherd Searches for Us

  • Notice that the shepherd is anxious to recover the lost sheep.  He leaves the ninety-nine immediately to go after the one who is lost.
  • Notice the shepherd doesn’t give up until the single lost sheep is found.  He goes after the sheep “until he finds it”.
  • Notice the shepherd isn’t angry at the sheep. He is joyful when he finds his sheep, he rejoices!

“The Human One came to seek and save the lost..” -Luke 19:10 (CEB) .

“God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him won’t perish but will have eternal life. God didn’t send his Son into the world to judge the world, but that the world might be saved through him.” -John 3:16-17 (CEB)

2. The Good Shepherd Finds Us

  • Notice it is the shepherd who carries all the weight.  The sheep is carried “on his shoulders”.
  • Notice it is the shepherd who holds the sheep safe.   The sheep are safe, held firmly in his grip.

In the same way, Jesus carries the weight of sin for us, “Come to me, all you who are struggling hard and carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest.” -Matthew 11:28 (CEB)  He also holds our salvation safe and sure, “I give them eternal life. They will never die, and no one will snatch them from my hand.” -John 10:28 (CEB)

3. The Good Shepherd Brings Us Home

  • Notice the shepherd shares his joy of finding the sheep with friends.  “Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep that was lost!”
  • Notice the shepherd brings the sheep all the way home. “…he comes home.”

In the same way, when a person comes to Christ “there is rejoicing in heaven”And Jesus leads us to heaven, “My Father’s house has room to spare. If that weren’t the case, would I have told you that I’m going to prepare a place for you? When I go to prepare a place for you, I will return and take you to be with me so that where I am you will be too.” (John 14:2-3 (CEB)

I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. -John 10:11 (CEB)

Jesus Christ is My Good Shepherd.  He laid down His life for me and my sins.  My sins put Him on the cross, my sins drove the nails into His wrists, my sins shed His blood.  Knowing this only reinforces more that I need to love the Lord my God with all my heart and with all my soul and with all my mind and with all my strength.   Even in the midst of our most stressful and emotionally crippling trials, it helps to know that our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ will never abandon us.  He will seek us out, find us, and bring us home to Him.   One day this pain and suffering will all be over.  One day He will arrive in the clouds.  One day we will hear the Final Trumpet Call.

Until that day…  Be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might.  Peace be to the brothers and sisters, and love with faith, from God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. Grace be with all who love our Lord Jesus Christ with love incorruptible.

Leave a comment