Thoughts from the Third Watch

www.betsywoodyard.comThe third watch of the night is an interesting time. I am up running at this time of morning and I enjoy watching as the darkness grows just a little darker before it begins to lighten as the sunrise approaches. There is something very mystical and spiritual about the entire experience. This morning as I was running, I was thinking of the first Easter morning and how everything must have seemed so dark and that the light would never again shine. I was reminded (and continue to be reminded) that we have all been at that point in our lives from time to time. We are in a situation where there seems to be no way out and we are afraid that the glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel may very well be a train. In my own case, it has been my dealing with the Army and navigating through it.

Then I was reminded of Jesus and that he goes before us.  Even in death.

But in fact Christ has been raised from the dead. He’s the first crop of the harvest of those who have died. Since death came through a human being, the resurrection of the dead came through one too. In the same way that everyone dies in Adam, so also everyone will be given life in Christ. -1 Corinthians 15:20-22 (CEB)

Even in the darkness, light will come again. Even in death, life will come again. Even in the midst of hopelessness, hope will come again. I am simply reminded that no matter what, Jesus has already been there and is, in fact, already there.  If I consider Paul’s words that everyone will die but everyone will also be given life in Christ – there is hope. I know I have to die but I also know that Jesus died as well. Jesus came through death and I will as well.

In my mind, it is like that first tiny hint of light on the horizon. It is dark but then you notice a slight lightening in the distance. It is not as dark as it was. Then suddenly it is growing lighter quickly and the sun rises. A new day is here and things don’t seem as bad in the light as they did in the darkness.

That first Easter morning, in the light of Christ, things must have seemed so much better (once they got over their fear) and filled with hope. I keep repeating it but it is worth repeating – Jesus has already been there. Jesus is already there.

Just some thoughts from the third watch. The darkness is never as bad as it seems. It is never as hopeless as it seems. It will get better one day. Maybe today. Maybe tomorrow. But one day soon.

 He will wipe away every tear from their eyes. Death will be no more. There will be no mourning, crying, or pain anymore, for the former things have passed away. -Revelation 21:4 (CEB)

I am comforted knowing that not only has Jesus gone there before but he is already there waiting for me. What a great thought for today and always.