On the Range

Today was an awesome day! In fact, today was a good example of why I love the Army Chaplaincy.

My unit went to the firing range for qualification. Of course, as a Chaplain, I cannot qualify on a weapon but I am can be there with the Soldiers ministering and sharing in their experience. There are not many pastors who can say the same thing!

Today, during lunch, while sharing an MRE in a sunny field near the firing range, one of the Soldiers said, “Hey Chaplain, what’s the deal with Baptism?” This lead to a great discussion of the origins of baptism, it’s significance, and the work of the Holy Spirit!

While the discussion was with a small group of believers, there were some other Soldiers who do not normally attend Chapel services or interact with Chaplains very much. That group worked their way into our discussion as well and before I knew it, there were about 15 of us talking about baptism and the Holy Spirit. It was awesome (and yes I felt the Holy Spirit moving among us!)

I am grateful and humbled that I get to do this. It is an awesome thing to be an Army Chaplain. I look forward to the days ahead (good and bad) remembering that God has called me to this ministry.

Leave a comment