It Takes Boldness

This morning I was reading the lectionary texts for Easter. I am not sure why but I flipped open my book and there they were and so I read them. Part of the text from John caught my attention.

The two were running together, but the other disciple outran Peter and reached the tomb first. He bent down and saw the linen wrappings lying there but did not go in. Then Simon Peter came, following him, and went into the tomb. -John 20:4-6 (NRSV)

As I read this passage, I had to smile because Peter was being Peter. He stumbled into the tomb to see for himself because he is never satisfied with someone else’s words. Then I realized that Peter represents us and we would be the ones doing the same thing.  But wait, before we shake our heads at Peter and write him off as an idiot, think about what he does – he is bold in his actions and in his faith. He stumbles into the tomb because he wants to see. Are we really like Peter afterall?

In the early days of the church, Christians were bold in their beliefs and their actions. They knew they were most likely facing persecution and death but they worshiped anyway. People joined the church because they saw the boldness of the believers and despite the odds against them, they continued to grow in faith and love for one another. They were bold.

Today, we do not face persecution or death (okay not in the United States but in other parts of the world they do) and we could be openly bold about our faith because we have Constructional protections but yet we are the most timid lot of people I know.  We simply accept things as they (yes I am making broad generalizations) and lament about it. I had a discussion yesterday with someone who was concerned about the growing number of Muslims in this country (not necessarily immigrants but converts). He couldn’t wrap his head around why people would be attracted to Islam. I suggested that it is because Muslims are bold in their practice of their faith (not intended as a negative). I shared that my dry cleaner invites me to Friday prayers and frequently answers my questions and enjoys a discussion of faith. Many Christians I know will push Jesus but not have a discussion about their beliefs or things in their beliefs that trouble them (that is being bold).

When I was 17, I had some serious faith questions and I went to my parish priest (I was a practicing Catholic then) and he dismissed my questions and suggested I go someplace else. I spent the next 5 years searching for answers and stumbling through things I shouldn’t have. Imagine if he had been bold enough to answer my questions. Martin Luther had questions and he boldly stood up and demanded answers to his questions. He was not timid and yes he caused an uproar but he also set off a series of discussions, councils, and reforms that caused people to reflect on their faith and their beliefs.

Back to my discussion yesterday, my colleague continued to grieve over the growing number of Buddhists, Muslims, atheists, and humanists. If I look back to the groups he mentioned, they are willing to share and talk with people who have questions. They are willing to look at the weaknesses of their faith/beliefs and address them. I admit there are parts of Christianity that trouble me – there are scripture passages that trouble me, there are days when I have doubts about my faith and I am willing to discuss them.

What is missing today is a boldness to have a conversation about our doubts and our beliefs. We would rather guilt people into believing or dangle hell in front of them than sit down and have a serious discussion about what troubles us with Christianity.  We won’t admit that we have doubts in our faith and we simply push people away because we appear to be strong and not willing to discuss questions and doubts. What do you think happens? People feel that they are wrong or different or unfaithful and wander off to seek out the answers they have.

It is time we begin to have dialogs about what we believe and what we question. Let’s be bold in our faith and bold in our questions and bold in our doubts. Afterall, we are only human – just like Peter.

Leave a comment